Join our email newsletter to get Local Brooklyn News, Events & Offers in your inbox:

Subscribe

   •   Read our

Newsletter Archive

The area that is Cobble Hill was first settled in the mid-17th century when Dutch governor Peter Stuyvesant began to allow farming north of Red Hook.

The location played an important part in the Revolutionary War, with the corner of Atlantic Avenue and Court Street offering a commanding view and becoming the site of Cobble Hill Fort.

By the 1800s, the neighborhood’s name died out and it became considered part of Brooklyn Heights until the 1950s when a realtor gave the name back after seeing it on a map from 1766.

Cobble Hill’s connection with the financial center of New York City prompted its development, with middle-class residents moving into its row houses. In the 1950s, brownstone enthusiasts moved into the area and renovated it block by block.

The neighborhood now boasts an activist spirit to preserve its low-rise identity, reminiscent of a Cobble Hill community that once blocked construction of a supermarket, leading to the construction of Cobble Hill Park.

  • Part of the River Park development that is replacing the Long Island College Hospital, 5 River Park, a condominium complex, is being constructed.
  • Bearing an appreciation of the old, some Cobble Hillers dwell in buildings within its historic district that present tokens from the past.
  • The neighborhood’s residential blocks hold gated community gardens shared by tenants.
  • Behind overgrowth, the complex’s name still stands in front of walls separating a construction site.
  • In an appreciation of the area’s dedication to gardening, one resident plants a bathtub garden in front of their building.
  • An old entrance to one of the Long Island College Hospital buildings remains open, leading to the walls of a construction site.
  • With most of Cobble Hill's buildings relatively low to the ground, they make way for its multi-colored trees and pre-Civil War churches like St. Peter's Our Lady of Pilar Roman Catholic Church at Warren and Hicks streets.
  • A Yemeni cafe bears its signs in English and Arabic on Atlantic Avenue. A stretch of Cobble Hill from Atlantic Avenue to Hicks Street has one of the largest concentrations of Middle Eastern businesses in the city.
  • Some low-rise buildings are often covered in vines and growth.
  • A worker for a Middle Eastern grocery carries goods inside the shop.
  • Cobble Hill Park stands as a location where the many families of the neighborhood can enjoy the outdoors together thanks to community residents blocking the development of a supermarket at the location.
  • The former South Brooklyn Savings Bank was turned into a Trader Joe's supermarket. General George Washington observed fighting during the Revolutionary War near the location before fleeing Brooklyn from the British invasion in 1776.
  • Kindergarten students proudly display Hebrew letters they are practicing to draw.
  • Cobble Hill's section of Court Street showcases a battleground between the new and old businesses. Historic buildings are either neighbors to new shops or rented by new businesses on the block.
  • Water bottle planters hang on a fence protecting a school garden behind P.S. 29.
  • The trendy Congress Bar moved into the shuttered Jim & Andy produce market.
  • After years battling with developers over construction of luxury residential towers in the area, some residents put these signs in their windows facing the street. This building is a block away from a since demolished Long Island College Hospital building where condominiums are being constructed.
  • Cobble Hill's stretch of Court Street with the popular Cobble Hill Cinemas to the right.
Photos by Paul Frangipane

How Cobble Hill Got Its Name

This neighborhood was settled in the 1640s, when Dutch Director-General Peter Stuyvesant, he of the artificial leg, began to allow farming north of Red Hook.

The Dutch farmers originally called it Ponkiesbergh, meaning Cobbles Hill, because of the cobblestones then being dumped in the area. The cobblestones were used as ballast on trading ships arriving from Europe, South Brooklyn being a major cargo port and Cobbles Hill then considered a part of South Brooklyn.

The largest mass of cobblestones was dropped at the corner of present-day Atlantic Ave. and Court St., making it a cone-shaped hill that was later known by the British as Bergen Hill. Because of the commanding view of the harbor from there, Gen. George Washington built Fort Cobble Hill there to help protect against the British invasion in the Revolutionary War. Fort Cobble Hill was also called the “Corkscrew Fort,” after the spiral road that was paved to move cannon to its top.

Washington used it as an observation post when the British invaded Brooklyn in 1776. The defenders of the fort were routed, the Americans retreated from Brooklyn, and the top of the hill was torn down by the British.

The area remained mostly rural until 1836 when the South Ferry started running between Brooklyn’s Atlantic Ave. and Manhattan’s Whitehall St. The neighborhood then developed rapidly, but it wasn’t until the 1950s — when a real estate broker saw the name on a 1766 map — that Cobble Hill was really reborn.

Situated between Carroll Gardens and Brooklyn Heights, its boundaries are considered to be the Brooklyn-Queens Expressway and Hicks St. on the west, Court St. on the east, Atlantic Ave. on the north and Degraw St. on the south.

Norm Goldstein

Brooklyn-born Norm Goldstein is retired, after working 44 years for the Associated Press, the global news agency, where he served as a reporter, feature writer, editor, author and administrator. He also worked for AP as director of Educational Services and editor of the AP Stylebook. He graduated from Brooklyn College and the Penn State Graduate School of Journalism. He currently lives in Brooklyn Heights.