Election Day 2012: Where And How To Vote

Election Day is this Tuesday, November 6, but unlike in previous years, this one truly is fraught with uncertainty – not just in who you will vote for, but how you can even get to your polling site, and whether it’s even the correct one.

Hurricane Sandy left many traditional polling centers in NY, NJ, and CT damaged or full of displaced and newly homeless residents, and has forced many people to stay too far away from their poll site.

That’s why storm-ravaged areas now have new voting locations. To find out where to vote, go here. To see where your site has moved to, check this document.

You can also text ‘NYCVOTES’ to 877-877 to find your polling location. Message and data rates may still apply. You can later text ‘STOP’ to opt out of further messages. For information in Spanish, text ‘DONDE’ to the same number.

You could also call (855) NYS-SANDY. If you have other questions, call (866) VOTE-NYC.

Governor Andrew Cuomo has also signed an executive order to allow any New Yorker to vote at ANY poll site via an affidavit ballot.

Also, this election has more at stake than just who the next President of the United States is. Below is a list for Brooklynites from Park Slope west to Red Hook and Brooklyn Heights, up to Greenpoint, and east to Clinton Hill, of all the candidates up for election and re-election:

President/Vice President:
Barack Obama/ Joe Biden – Democratic, Working Families — incumbent
Mitt Romney/Paul Ryan – Republican, Conservative
Jill Stein/Cheri Honkala – Green
Peta Lindsay/Yari Osorio – Socialism and Liberation
Gary Johnson/James P. Gray – Libertarian
Virgil Goode/Jim Clymer – Constitution

U.S. Senator:
Kirsten E. Gillibrand – Democratic, Working Families, Independence — incumbent
Wendy Long – Republican, Conservative
Colia Clark – Green
Chris Edges – Libertarian
John Mangelli – Common Sense

Representative in Congress:
Hakeem S. Jeffries – Democratic, Working Families
Alan S. Bellone – Republican, Conservative
Colin M. Beavan – Green

State Senator – 20th Senatorial District
Eric Adams – Democratic, Working Families — incumbent
Rose Laney – Republican

State Senator – 25th Senatorial District
Velmanette Montgomery – Democratic, Working Families — incumbent
John A. Jasilli – Republican, Conservative

State Senator – 26th Senatorial District
Daniel Squadron – Democratic, Working Families — incumbent
Jacqueline Haro – Republican

Member of Assembly – 43rd Assembly District
Karim Camara – Democratic, Working Families — incumbent
Stuart A. Balberg – Republican, Conservative

Member of Assembly – 44th Assembly District
James F. Brennan – Democratic, Working Families — incumbent
Catherine Fox – Republican, Conservative

Member of Assembly – 50th Assembly District
Joseph R. Lentol – Democratic — incumbent
Victor V. Best – Republican, Conservative

Member of Assembly – 52nd Assembly District
Joan I. Millman – Democratic, Working Families — incumbent
John R. Nijhawan – Republican, Conservative

Member of Assembly – 53rd Assembly District
Vito J. Lopez – Democratic — incumbent
Richy Garcia – Republican

Member of Assembly – 57th Assembly District
Walter T. Mosley III – Democratic
Francis J. Voyticky – Republican

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.