Scholarship winners feted

Sixteen local students who distinguished themselves as much in their community service as they had in their academic performance have received scholarships for their efforts.

The graduating high school seniors were the recipients of the annual Kassenbrock Scholarships, which this year totaled $41,500, with each student receiving an award of between $1,500 and $5,000.

The scholarship winners were Atena Sofides, Laura Daly, Jill Nixon, Christina Fratangelo, Anokhi Sachdev and Janal Beyrouti of Fontbonne Hall Academy; Nicholas Koven, Andrew Lee, Diana Avetisyan, Nicole Ling, Martha Marin, Mickey Chan and Chritine Allawh of Fort Hamilton High School; Daniel Petric and Albert Connolly of Xaverian High School, and Christopher Panello of Xavier High School.

“The applications were extraordinary, not only in the performance of community service but in the academics as well,” noted Mary Ann Walsh, the administrator of the Kassenbrock Brothers Memorial Scholarship Fund. The community service performed by the students, she added, was “above and beyond what they are required to do by their high schools.”

The scholarship winners were recognized at the conclusion of the Bay Ridge Community Council’s Essay Contest awards ceremony.

“We hope to see in future years some of the winners of the Essay Contest here again as winners of the Kassenbrock Scholarship,” added David Whitebook, the scholarship chair.


Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.