Seven Brooklyn educators among Big Apple Award recipients

Seven Brooklyn educators are among the 19 recipients of the New York City Department of Education’s Big Apple Awards, a recognition program that celebrates the work of the city’s full-time public school educators.

Danielle Boccino (fifth grade teacher, P.S. 215 Morris H. Weiss, Gravesend), Corinne Cornibe (high school math teacher, Academy for Young Writers, East New York), Adriana DiScipio (English as a New Language teacher, P.S. 230 Doris L. Cohen, Kensington), Katie McArdle (elementary autism teacher, P.S. K231, Borough Park), Faye Michalakos (sixth grade math teacher, Hellenic Classical Charter School, Park Slope), Rosario Orengo (middle school social studies teacher, The Urban Assembly Unison School, Clinton Hill) and Diana Shteynberg (pre-K teacher, Shorefront YM-YWHA, Brighton Beach) were chosen from a pool of more than 7,800 nominations.

As winners, they will have the opportunity to serve as Big Apple Fellows, meeting monthly with one another and becoming ambassadors for their profession. They will also be invited to serve on DOE Chancellor Carmen Fariña’s Teacher Advisory Group, which has a say in DOE policy.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.