Meet the 2017 Power Women in Business

Once again, Star Network will honor influential Brooklyn women whose major achievements and dedication to Brooklyn have inspired others at the Sixth Annual Power Women in Business Awards & Networking Dinner, to be held on Thursday, March 23 at the Grand Prospect Hall, 263 Prospect Avenue.

“There are excellent women in our community and my role is to recognize them,” said Home Reporter and Brooklyn Spectator Co-Publisher Victoria Schneps, the spearhead of this special event. “They deserve to be highlighted for all their dedication and devotion to what they do.”

“There is so much talent and there are so many successful businesswomen who give back to the community,” said Lori Pedone, event organizer. “This is an opportunity for them to network with each other and be recognized for all that they do.”

This year’s awards will take place from 6 to 9 p.m. Tickets can be purchased at

This year’s Power Women include: Lillian V. Brienza (President/CEO, Brienza’s Academic Advantage); Ashley Brigman (License RE Agent, Rapid Realty); Tamara Bulatovic (Branch Manager, Investors Bank); Francesca Cavaliere (International Singer/Entertainer); Amarimba L. Charles (Founder, T.A.L.L.O.M. Foundation, Inc.); Lucina Clarke (Executive Director, My Time Inc.); Debbie Cooper (Vice President/Area Manager, Chase Bank); Yamna Dazzazi (Owner, Z & K Police Equipment & Uniforms, Inc.); Donna Mae DePola (President/CEO, The Resource Training & Counseling Center); Ogo Ekweozor-Holley (Chief Executive Officer, OGONEWYORK); Elisa English, Ph.D, LCSW-R, MSW (Clinical Therapist @AskDrElisa); Dr. Susan Hernandez (Pediatric Dentist, Pearly Whites Pediatric Dentistry, LLC); Highlyann Krasnow (Partner, MNS); Lisa Lonuzzi (NYS Licensed Associate RE Broker, The Corcoran Group); Trish Martin (Managing Director of Sales, Halstead Properties); Geri Martinez (Principal, Bishop Kearney High School); Ferial Masoud (Founder, Balady’s Halal Food); Nina McCandless (Entrepreneur/Business Owner, Nina McCandless Consulting and SSG Underground LLC); Dr. Katherine Melzer Ross (GENESIS Fertility & Reproductive Medicine); Rita Mercieca, RN (SVP/Regional Executive Director, Brooklyn Region, Northwell Health); Dina Morro (Owner, Nile Boutique); Kyaisha Max-Macarthy (Mrs. K) (Director & Founder, Mrs. K Dance Academy & Swagga Jumpers); Georgette Neglia (Entrepreneur); Tatiana Y. Nicoli (Owner, Pinot’s Palette Dyker Heights/Boulevard Books); Veronica Pawson (64th AD State Committee Woman); Catherine Petrosino (Owner, Brooklyn Stitchery); Katheline M. Pierre, III (CEO/Founding & Finance Director, Muyasi/MPIENCE™); Dana Rachlin (Founder & Executive Director, NYC Together); Nicolette Repaci Sinatra (Associate General Counsel, Witkoff); Iphigenia Romanos (Head of School, Adelphi Academy of Brooklyn); Pamela J. Roth, Esq. (Law Offices of Pamela J. Roth, Esq., P.C.); Jackie Smith (Branch Manager, Flushing Bank); Mary Ann Spicijaric (Principal, Fontbonne Hall Academy); Jennifer Tortorici (Director of Operations, Luna Park at Coney Island); Lori Tropia (Associate Broker, Ben Bay Realty of Avenue U); Sara Valenzuela (Vice President, Patrick Jenkins and Associates); Nakita Vanstory (Program Coordinator, LaGuardia Community College/Justice Community & Justice PLUS Programs); Dawn S. Walker (AVP, Communications & Marketing, Kingsborough Community College); and Dr. Marceline J. Watler (Program Director & Training Specialist, Administration for Children’s Services).

In addition, Sallyann Russo and Angela Febbraro of Bay Ridge’s Towne Boutique will take home the Power Retail Team Award.

Danielle Rutuelo will be awarded the Empire State Bank Exceptional Woman Award for Community Service and Cheryl Swift, principal of Summit Academy Charter School, will be awarded the Investors Bank Educator of the Year Award.

Furthermore, famed athlete and former NY Giants Championship Defensive End Leonard Marshall will be awarded Man of the Year.

Hall of Fame recipients this year will include: Renee Dorsa (Broker/Owner, Dorsa Group Realty) and MJ Pedone (President, Indra Public Relations).

Patricia B. Laudano, owner of Patricia B. Laudano Realty will take home the Lifetime Achievement Award.

One hundred percent of the raffle proceeds will go to the Summit Academy Charter School.

This year’s sponsors include Investors Bank, Empire State Bank, Flushing Bank, New York Community Bank, CHASE Bank, JetBlue, National Grid, Indra Public Relations, Adelphi Academy of Brooklyn, Malsons Jewelers, Broadway Stages and Medcast Plus.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.